Welcome to our forums! Please introduce yourself here

Hi Everyone!

Bonjour, Hola, 你好, Hallo, Ciao, Namaste, Привет, Vítejte, 안녕하세요, chào bạn, こんにち, Pozdrowienia, Hej, Živjo, 拝啓, Tervetuloa, Velkommen, Cześć, Oi, Saudações, ようこそ, Salve, مرحبا, Benvenuto, Pozdrav, Merhaba, Привет, Hei, Bemvindo, Hälsningar, Välkommen, Saluto, مرحبا, zdravo, Χαίρετε…

We’re really excited to launch this community. To get things started, here are a few questions for everyone to get acquainted with one another :smiley:

• Who are you?
  • Are you new to PCR technology?
  • What is your industry and profession?
  • How does Chai’s products apply to your specific project goals?

For any customer service or technical support questions, please email us at support@chaibio.com

Hi,

My name is Laurie and I have a veterinarian office. I’m relatively new to pcr and am interested in detecting canine parvovirus. Is your instrument able to do this?

thanks!

Hi Laurie,

Thanks for reaching out!

Open qPCR uses qPCR technology to identify the presence of your target nucleotide sequences. This differs from traditional PCR in the following ways:

• Real-time monitoring of data
  • Quantitative data analysis
  • High sensitivity and specificity
  • High resolution
  • Large dynamic range for detecting low and high target copy numbers
  • Automated detection
  • No post-PCR processing such as a gel required
  • Can use both intercalating dyes and fluorophore probes for detection

To answer your question – yes, the instrument is able detect for Parvovirus in a sample provided that you design primers specific to that target of interest. To detect a certain sequence, you will need the following:

1. Sample – Isolate DNA or cDNA
  2. Detection –
    a. Primers/probes specific to the marker you wish to amplify OR
    b. Primers specific to the marker you wish to amplify and fluorescent dye (such as SYBR Green)
  3. Reaction Components - PCR Master mix (polymerase, dNTPs, MgCl, etc.)